Karim Benzema’s goal against Liverpool was ruled out because the striker was stood in an offside position due to Alisson advancing out of his goal.
The video assistant referees also did not overturn the decision as Fabinho’s touch was not a clear deliberate pass, which meant Benzema was still regarded to be offside.
Benzema latched onto a ball over the top during the first-half of Real Madrid’s Champions League final against Real Madrid. He dribbled around Alisson, who got a touch to the ball, before it hit Ibrahima Konate and then the goalkeeper again.
The ball then rebounded between Konate, Fede Valverde, Konate again and then Fabinho before dropping to the 34-year-old again. The striker then slotted the ball past Alisson.
However, he was greeted by the offside flag. Referee Clement Turpin and his team decided it was offside because Benzema had been beyond Alisson, although there was still a Liverpool defender between him and the goal. There has to be two players between a forward and the goal for him to not be offside — either a goalkeeper and outfield player or two outfield players. The implication was also that Valverde got the crucial touch.
It was referred to the video assistant referee Jerome Brisard and his assistants Willy Delajod, Massimiliano Irrati and Filippo Meli.
After three minutes and 22 seconds of watching the footage, they did not overturn the on-pitch decision.
It was unclear whether the ball had been passed by Valverde, with video replays suggesting the ball had come off Fabinho, but the decision stood and Benzema was denied an opening goal.
BT Sport’s Peter Walton suggested that because it was a deflection from Fabinho, rather than a deliberate pass, the goal was right to have been ruled out.